• An Overview of DOK Levels

    DOK levels range from 1 to 4. Level 1 could include any question that asks students to recall or identify something. This type of question requires one mental step – to remember or identify the content. On the other end of the spectrum, level 4 questions could involve taking information, interpreting it, and forming a model or plan that applies the original information in an entirely new, yet logical and sometimes creative way. There may be multiple cognitive steps in a DOK 4 question.


    Level 1 – Recall and Reproduction
    Level 2 – Working with Skills and Concepts
    Level 3 – Short-term Strategic Thinking
    Level 4 – Extended Strategic Thinking

    The chart below outlines each DOK level and describes the basic identifying factors of each.

    Depth of Knowledge Levels